The Great Yorkshire Sewing Bee

Sorry for the lack of posts recently, I’ve just been rather busy! Anyway I wanted to share with you a post from my mum’s blog about what we got up to the other weekend. I can’t wait for the re-enactment season to begin again so it was great to start getting ready for it, and getting excited!

Stitches of Time

Hello everyone

I am really enjoying watching the Great British Sewing Bee on BBC 2 – would love to live in that workshop, all that fabric and buttons and beads and cottons! I know I have a lovely craft room but that would be heaven.

Ellie, Kerry and I had our own little sewing bee last weekend and we had a lovely time cutting out new dresses for them so I thought I would show you a few pics to document the process.

We have a fairly untraditional style of garment making which mainly relies on cutting round existing garments to make new ones and adapting the pattern as we go along.

We do sometimes use bits of existing patterns for shaping such as bodices etc but mostly it is a case of cut, pin, try on and alter until it all fits.

I have the following pattern which is…

View original post 297 more words

Leave a Reply

